Just a little almost-mid-week inspiration:)

Photo 9-1-15 11 47 17 pm

Breakfast at VitkAc in Warsaw, Poland

The world is becoming increasingly fast-paced. It makes it exciting, there’s no doubt about that; but it all often becomes overwhelming. I know I’ve felt like that countless times.

It’s exactly in this situation where I prioritize the things I have to do; and the things I ‘dream’ of doing, even the small ones, get relegated to the very end of the list, meaning I probably won’t get around to doing them any time soon. Of course, we all have work to do and commitments we have to see through, but even with the limited amount of time we have, we shouldn’t neglect the things we wish to accomplish that we really hold dear to us. If not, they’ll just get lost in the daily grind of things.

And now? Now I’m in the opposite situation; I’m halfway through my gap year and my main internships have been completed. With this much time in between all my travels, it’s dangerously easy to slip into a habit of doing nothing day after day. It’s like the stealthy monster of Laziness slowly creeping up on you, though that really sounds too cute!

Thankfully, I’m the type of person who gets restless after just one day of relaxing; but I admit that I have to constantly remind myself to keep going and to not waste a second of it. (I know this has been said millions of times, but maybe that’s because it’s true!)

There are an infinite number of things we would all like to do with our lives, and honestly every single day is an opportunity to start a new one, to tick one off the list. I don’t think it’s humanly possible to accomplish everything we’ve ever wanted to do in life (hats off to you if you have), but every time we take a step, I think it gives us a little boost; it’s a small (or large) success for the day.

It’s not easy to make that effort: to try and maybe fail. That is something that scares me everyday. But what’s even scarier is never taking that first step, never really knowing how it would have turned out; because then again, maybe we’ll succeed.

“At a certain point in our lives, we lose control of what’s happening to us and our lives become controlled by fate. That’s the world’s greatest lie.” – The Alchemist

There’s always something we can do, the most important thing is to actually do it.

It’s one of the best-selling books in the world so you’d better listen;)

Leave a Reply

